Wout van Aert wins Milano-Sanremo in a close sprint
Aug 09 2020 12:32 am CET

Wout van  Aert wins Milano-Sanremo in a close sprint
Wout van  Aert wins Milano-Sanremo in a close sprint
Wout van Aert by Jumbo-Visma

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) has taken the victory of the first Monument of the season, Milano-Sanremo. Julian Alaphilippe crossed the finish line in the second position.

La Primavera was 305 kilometres long that the riders went through it under the scorching heat of the summer. The escape of the day included riders like Manuele Boaro (Astana), Damiano Cima (Gazprom Rusvelo) and Marco Frapporti (Vini Zabu-KTM), among others.

With around 90 kilometres to go, one of the favourites for the day Matteo Trentin (CCC Team) crashed and had to retire with abrasions on the left side of his body. With 35 kilometres to go, Boaro, the last of the escapees, was caught while behind the peloton the winner of the 2019 edition of the race Julian Alaphilippe suffered a puncture and had a bike change.

Loïc Vliegen (Circus-Wanty Gobert) and Jacopo Mosca (Trek-Segafredo) attacked on the first metres of the climb of the Cipressa and the peloton let them go. There were attacks by riders or UAE Team Emirates and Trek-Segafredo in the pack, but they were all neutralised.

The two escapees were caught at the top of the Cipressa and soon after, Bora-hansgrohe's Daniel Oss launched an attack on the descent and took a good advantage over the pack but was neutralised on the first slopes of the Poggio as Giulio Ciccone attacked.

The pack got together again and Alaphilippe made a move in the last metres of the climb and was followed by Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma). The duo did the descent together, while the chasers remained at around seven seconds behind.

It came down to a battle between the two of them and the Belgian was the fastest, crossing the finish line just ahead of the Frenchman. Van Aert takes this win one week after he was also victorious at Strade Bianche.

Michael Matthews (Sunweb), Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) and Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT ProCycling) completed the top five of the day.