RCS Sport's virtual Challenge of the Stars confirms startlist that includes Chris Froome
May 19 2020 04:30 am CET

RCS Sport's virtual Challenge of the Stars confirms startlist that includes Chris Froome
RCS Sport's virtual Challenge of the Stars confirms startlist that includes Chris Froome
Photo of Chris Froome by Team Ineos

The virtual tournament of RCS Sport, The Challenge of the Stars, has announced a new name that will take part on it: Chris Froome.

Sixteen professional cyclists will take part in The Challenge of Stars, a virtual tournament in collaboration with the virtual cycling platform Bkool that will be held on the 23rd and the 24th of May. The names of the riders have been officially announced and the four-times winner of the Tour de France has been confirmed for it.

The race will crown the best sprinter and the best climber after a series of virtual races, in which they will compete two at a time, through some of the most world-famous Italian locations: the Stelvio and the Tuscan countryside. Froome will be in the climbers' competitions with other riders like Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo), among others.

"At a time like this when we are unable to race it’s great to be able to use technology to put on an event like The Challenge of Stars and bring entertainment to the cycling fans," said the British rider. "I’m looking forward to taking on this new type of challenge against some of the top riders in the sport."

"Certainly given the current situation, with many races that have been cancelled or moved, indoor cycling is an excellent alternative to training while waiting to return to competing outdoors," added Fuglsang. "We look forward to being able to ride the races that have been placed on the new international calendar, and in the meantime it is nice to be able to taste a little competition and race other pros virtually, as with The Challenge of the Stars."

Dutch former National champion Mathieu van der Poel was previously mentioned as one of the names in the sprinters list, but he has been replaced by his teammate Tim Merlier.


Pascal Ackermann (BORA-Hansgrohe)
Mads Pedersen (Trek - Segafredo)
Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkéa Samsic)
Tim Merlier (Alpecin-Fenix)
Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck - Quick Step)
Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)
Matteo Trentin (CCC Team)
Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos)

Ackermann is set to compete against Bouhanni while Jakobsen will do it against Pedersen, the winners will compete against each other until only one remains while on the second half Ewan will fight against Merlier and Trentin against Ganna, and the winner of at the end of the series of races will compete against each other for the best sprinter.


Rafal Majka (Bora–Hansgrohe)
Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo)
Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)
Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa Samsic)
Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team)
Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)
Simon Geschke (CCC Team)
Chris Froome (Team Ineos)

In the climbers' competition, the tournament will have Fuglsang against Ciccone and Nibali against Geschke, while of the other half, Majka will compete against De Gendt and Froome against Barguil, until only two riders remain to fight for the final victory.