RCS Sport presents virtual event for sprinters and climbers
May 13 2020 02:18 am CET

RCS Sport presents virtual event for sprinters and climbers
RCS Sport presents virtual event for sprinters and climbers
Photo by ASO/Thomas MAHEUX

RCS Sport in partnership with Bkool has presented a virtual tournament for professional riders that is called 'The Challenge of the Stars'.

A total of 16 professional riders -eight climbers and eight sprinters- will face a series knockout challenges that will reveal who is the strongest in each of their respective categories. The Challenge of the Stars will also have the official partnership of Tissot and Enel and will be raced on Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 of May and broadcasted internationally.

"In this period, being unable to carry out road races outdoors led us to think of new ways to organize cycling races; this is how the Milano-Sanremo Virtual Experience and the Giro d’Italia Virtual were born," said Paolo Bellino, CEO and General Manager of RCS Sport.

"The next step was to devise a unique, innovative and engaging format, ‘The Challenge of Stars’. It’s an event with great television potential that will enable all fans, also thanks to the Bkool platform, to live a true professional cycling experience and will enable top riders to compete in unprecedented challenges on this new terrain."

"After many years holding indoor cycling competitions for amateurs on our platform, recently Bkool has also been organizing competitions for professionals, broadcast via different media, which have been a great hit," said Benito Vazques, CEO of the virtual cycling platform Bkool.

"We are convinced that our simulator's technological capabilities fused with RCS Sport's experience and knowledge, will mark a new milestone in the development of this type of competition, offering a groundbreaking format that is very attractive to the general public and professionals alike, as these cycling stars have never been seen competing like this."

The organisation of the event has announced so far seven names of sprinters or rouleurs and seven of climbers that will start in the competition.


Pascal Ackermann (BORA-Hansgrohe)
Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)
Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkéa Samsic)
Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix)
Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck - Quick Step)
Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)
Matteo Trentin (CCC Team)


Rafal Majka (BORA-Hansgrohe)
Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo)
Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)
Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa Samsic)
Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team)
Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)
Simon Geschke (CCC Team)