National Championships roundup: Spain, Poland, Slovakia and more
Jun 24 2018 11:39 pm CET

National Championships roundup: Spain, Poland, Slovakia and more
National Championships roundup: Spain, Poland, Slovakia and more
Photo by ASO/Karenn EDWARDS

Several national championships have taken place throughout the world. Here are some of the new winners, who will wear their countries' colours for an entire year.


Bahrain-Merida's Gorka Izagirre has been crowned as the new Spanish champion. The Spanish race went through a 215-kilometre route between Castellon de la Plana and Benicassim and Izagirre crossed the finish line first after a late attack at nine seconds from Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Omar Fraile.

Earlier in the week, Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Sky), took the victory at the time trial of the Spanish championships for the fourth time, the second time in a row.


Team Sky's Michal Kwiatkowski has taken the victory at the Polish championships. The rider was part of the day's breakaway and managed to finish ahead of Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe) and Lukas Owsian (CCC).

This is the second national title for the former world champion.

Movistar's Malgorzata Jasinska won the women's national title.


World champion Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) has taken the Slovak national title for the sixth time in his career. After a 170-kilometre race, the rider crossed the finish line on his own while teammate and brother Juraj Sagan stepped on the second place of the podium.

Michael Kolar, who announced that this was his last race as a professional rider, completed the podium of the Slovak race.

Other champions:

Eritrea: Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)
Norway: Vegard Stake Laengen (UAE-Team Emirates) - Vita Heine (Hitec Products)
Slovenia: Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)
Italy, Women's Elite: Marta Cavalli (Valcar PBM)



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: