BMC Racing team takes victory at Tour de Suisse TTT, Stefan Küng first leader
Jun 09 2018 11:30 pm CET

BMC Racing team takes victory at Tour de Suisse TTT, Stefan Küng first leader
BMC Racing team takes victory at Tour de Suisse TTT, Stefan Küng first leader
Photo BMC Racing Team © Mary Cárdenas /

BMC Racing team has set the fastest time at the first stage of the Tour de Suisse. Stefan Küng was the first rider of the team to cross the finish line and took the lead of the overall classification.

The Swiss race took off with a team time trial of 18.3 kilometres in Frauenfeld. The first of the WorldTour teams to set the best time was UAE Team Emirates, stopping the clock at 21 minutes and 12 seconds.

Team Sky was one of the next formations to finish the time trial and stopped the clock at 20 minutes and 20 seconds, being 12 seconds slower than UAE. The British team was in the 14th position at the end of the day at one minute and two seconds from the leader.

Soon after that, Quick-Step Floors completed the circuit in 20 minutes and 45 seconds, taking the hot seat of the best time for the moment. The next team to finish was Movistar, which was only six seconds slower than the Belgian team.

Bora-hansgrohe finished soon after and was close to beating the time of Quick-Step. The German team stopped the clock at 0.96 seconds from the Belgian formation.

The World Team Time Trial champion Sunweb showed its strength in the discipline and completed the route in 20 minutes and 37 seconds, moving Quick-Step Floors to the second position of the day. The next team to finish the time trial was Mitchelton-Scott, which was ten seconds slower than Sunweb.

The next team to finish was the favourite of the day, BMC Racing team. The American formation with Swiss influence completed the course in 20 minutes and 18 seconds, being 20 seconds faster than Sunweb.

Katusha-Alpecin was the last team to start and finished in 21 minutes and 19 seconds, taking the 9th position of the day.

Swiss rider Stefan Küng, at being the rider of his team that crossed the finish line in the first position, took the leader's jersey in his home country.

1. BMC Racing Team 20'18"
2. Team Sunweb +0'20"
3. Quick-Step Floors +0'27"
4. Bora-hansgrohe +0'27"
5. Mitchelton-Scott +0'29"



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address:


Tour of Oman
Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol
Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta


UAE Tour2019-02-24