Second victory for Julian Alaphilippe in Vuelta al Pais Vasco
Apr 03 2018 11:36 pm CET

Second victory for Julian Alaphilippe in Vuelta al Pais Vasco
Second victory for Julian Alaphilippe in Vuelta al Pais Vasco
Photo of Julian Alaphilippe by Jonathan Roorda /

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) has won the second stage of the Vuelta al Pais Vasco. The rider was once again faster in the last meters than LottoNL-Jumbo's Primoz Roglic.

The 168-kilometre stage between Zarautz and Bermeo featured one climb of the first category, one of the second and two of the third category. The day started very fast which caused a rupture in the peloton with the gap between the two groups reaching more than a minute.

A group of ten riders took advantage of the chaos and managed to escape from the front group. This group included cyclists like Damiano Caruso (BMC), Carlos Verona (Mitchelton-Scott), Tao Geoghegan Hart and David Lopez (Sky). Behind them, teams like Quick-Step Floors and LottoNL-Jumbo set the pace of the peloton in order to protect the positions of Julian Alaphilippe and Primoz Roglic.

With less than 20 kilometres remaining and as the pack came closer, Lopez attacked from the front group and created a considerable gap with the rest of the escapees, who were eventually caught at the start of the last descent of the day, a few minutes before Lopez himself was reeled back in as well.

Sunweb's Michael Matthews then launched an attack from the pack and was followed by riders like Alaphilippe, Roglic, Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) and Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors).

At 7 kilometres from the finish line, Mas changed the pace in the reduced pack, which allowed Alaphilippe to attack a few meters later. Behind him, Roglic attacked and Mikel Landa (Movistar) and Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) followed his wheel until they joined the Frenchman.

The quartet took turns on the descent and behind them, a group led by Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Uran tried to hunt them down. The first one to launch the sprint was once again Roglic and Alaphilippe stayed at his wheel, getting the advantage in the last meters to take his second victory in the race.

Roglic took the second position on the stage and Izagirre was third. Alaphilippe keeps the leader's jersey.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: