Tim Wellens wins Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana
Jan 26 2018 04:08 pm CET

Tim Wellens wins Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana

Tim Wellens of Lotto Soudal has won the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana, part of the Challenge Mallorca, for the second year in a row.

The wet conditions on the Spanish island of Mallorca were ideal for the Belgian to deliver a top level performance. Wellens entered the race's finale ahead of the peloton, in a group with Gianni Moscon and Alejandro Valverde.

Gregor Muhlberger and 2016 champion Gianluca Brambilla then joined, forming a lead group of five entering the last ten kilometers.

Valverde and Muhlberger were momentarily dropped but managed to fight their way back to the front. Valverde even tried to attack but was countered by Wellens, who ended up taking the victory ahead of Moscon and the Spaniard.

Muhlberger and Brambilla completed the top five.

In 2017, Wellens was the second Belgian to win the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana after Gianni Meersman in 2014.

Photo of Tim Wellens (cropped) by Lotto-Soudal