Rigoberto Uran conquers Milano-Torino
Oct 05 2017 04:25 pm CET

Rigoberto Uran conquers Milano-Torino
Rigoberto Uran conquers Milano-Torino
Photo of Rigoberto Uran by Cannondale-Drapac

Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) has won Milano-Torino. The Colombian went solo in the last kilometres and crossed the finish line on his own.

The Italian race took the riders from San Giuliano Milanese to the Basilica di Superga in Torino over 186 kilometres.

Early in the race four riders formed an escape group and got away from the riders. Gregory Rast (Trek-Segafredo), Guillaume Bonnafond (Cofidis, Solutions Credits), Karl Patrick Lauk (Astana Pro Team) and Simone Andreetta (Bardiani-CSF), created a gap of more than five minutes with the peloton.

With 22 kilometres to go, the escape group was caught after hard work by Team Sky to set the pace and very soon after, during the first ascent of the Superga, Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) launched an attack, creating an 18-second gap with the reduced pack.

The Frenchman was reeled back in by the small peloton with six kilometres to go and just before the last ascent of the Superga. The first rider to make a move there was Rudy Molard (FDJ) but he was soon caught by a small group composed by Fabio Aru (Astana), Mikael Cherel (AG2R La Mondiale), Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac), Egan Bernal (Androni-Giocattoli) and David Gaudu (FDJ).

With a bit more than two kilometres to go, Uran stepped up the pace and ended up going solo. Behind them a trio composed by Adam Yates (Orica-Scott), Aru and Gaudu tried to catch the Colombian.

Yates then attacked to try to bridge to the front, leaving the others behind. The speed of the Briton was not enough to catch the Cannondale rider, who crossed the finish line on his own.

A few seconds later, Yates took second place with Aru crossing the line third.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: