Four Il Lombardia champions return to fight for the title
Sep 29 2017 12:34 pm CET

Four Il Lombardia champions return to fight for the title

Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott), Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors) will be back in Il Lombardia to try to get another victory in the last monument of the season.

The 111th edition of the race, which will take place on the 7th of October, will be 247 kilometres long from Bergamo to Como and covers an elevation of 4.000 metres with a difficult finish.

25 teams will appear at the race with big names including riders like Giro d'Italia winner Tom Dumoulin and Tour de France Polka Dot winner Warren Barguil (Sunweb), the runner-ups of the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Rigoberto Uran (Cannodale-Drapac), Fabio Aru and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), Mikel Landa and Diego Rosa (Sky), Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin), Adam Yates (Orica-Scott), and Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors).

Next to the 18 WorldTour teams, seven ProContinental teams will start in the Italian race: Adroni Giocattoli-Sidermec, Bardiani CSF, Cofidis, Direct Energie, Gazprom-Rusvelo, Nippo-Vini Fantini and Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia.
Image: Giro di Lombardia logo


Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: