Peter Sagan takes the Rainbow Jersey for the third time in a row
Sep 24 2017 04:45 pm CET

Peter Sagan takes the Rainbow Jersey for the third time in a row
Peter Sagan takes the Rainbow Jersey for the third time in a row
Photo of Peter Sagan by the A.S.O.

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) has won the World Championships road race for the third time in a row. The Slovak was the fastest at the final sprint, beating Alexander Kristoff by centimetres.

The men's race was 267.5 kilometres long starting in Rong, at the north of Bergen, and finishing on a city circuit that passed through places featured in other events of these World Championships.

Early on the day, a group of nine riders broke free from the pack. Conor Dunne and Sean McKenna (Ireland), Alexey Vermeulen (United States), Willem Jakobus Smit (South Africa), Andrey Amador (Costa Rica), Kim Magnusson (Sweden), Elchin Asadov (Azerbaijan), and Eugert Zhupa (Albania), got an advantage of more than three minutes over the peloton.

With a bit more than 80 kilometres to go, a bunch pulled by The Netherlands and Belgium reeled in the escapees. At 65 kilometres from the finish, a new front group was formed by Lars Boom (The Netherlands), David de la Cruz (Spain), Jarlinson Pantano (Colombia), Alessando De Marchi (Italy), Odd Eiking (Norway), Jack Haig (Australia), Marco Haller (Austria) and Tim Wellens (Belgium).

Behind them, Nils Politt (Germany) jumped from the pack but was soon caught and this attack was followed by new ones by riders like Tom Dumoulin. The pace of the front group was too hard for Pantano and Boom and they were the first ones to be dropped and get caught by the peloton.

With 25 kilometres to go, the peloton was compact again and soon riders like Lluis Mas (Spain) and Oliver Naesen (Belgium) tried their luck, but without success. At 16 kilometres from the end, Sebastian Langeveld (The Netherlands) and Paul Martens (Germany) attacked as well but were soon caught by the rest.

On the last climb of the day, Julian Alaphillipe (France) attacked and was followed by Gianni Moscon (Italy). Other riders like Ilnur Zakarin (Russia) and Niki Terpstra (The Netherlands) tried to follow unsuccessfully.

The Frenchman was caught in the last two kilometres and everything was prepared for a final sprint. The last meters featured a battle between Alexander Kristoff (Norway) and Peter Sagan, in which the Slovak once again proved to be the strongest man, getting his third title in a row. Michael Matthews (Australia) got bronze.




Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: