Victor Campenaerts wins European Time Trial title
Aug 03 2017 04:38 pm CET

Victor Campenaerts wins European Time Trial title
Victor Campenaerts wins European Time Trial title
2017 European Road Cycling Championships logo

Belgian Victor Campenaerts is the new European Time Trial Champion. The LottoNL-Jumbo rider defeated Maciej Bodnar by three seconds.

The men's time trial course in Herning (Denmark) was 46 kilometers long and contained a some points of elevation but was flat enough for the true specialists to shine.

The race took place without reigning champion Jonathan Castroviejo. The Spaniard had not fully recovered from an injury and was as such unable to defend his title.

The battle for victory was limited to only a few riders. Ireland's Ryan Mullen needed only 53 minutes and 57 seconds to complete the course and momentarily topped the standings, until Polish specialist Maciej Bodnar crossed the line with a two-second advantage over Mullen.

Campenaerts initially did not appear to be in the best shape as the Belgian clocked the sixth time at an early split, but he had actually saved energy to perform much better in the second part of the race.

At the finish, Campenaerts had three seconds left on Bodnar who as such moved down to Silver. Mullen finished the day in third position.

The top five was completed by Austria's Matthias Brandle and Giro d'Italia time trial winner Jos van Emden.



Loading Poll...

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!

Enter your email address: