Alejandro Valverde wins and leads in Pais Vasco
Apr 07 2017 05:33 pm CET

Alejandro Valverde wins and leads in Pais Vasco

Alejandro Valverde of Movistar is the new leader of the Vuelta al Pais vasco after winning the fifth stage ahead of Romain Bardet and Rigoberto Uran.

Friday's stage was considered the queen stage of the Spanish race with six categorized climbs including three of the first category. The stage finished just after the summit of the last climb, up the first-category Puerto de Usartza.

The stage began without Julien Alaphilippe. The Quick-Step rider decided not to start after struggling in the previous few stages.

A large group of 21 riders broke away from the peloton in the opening phase of the stage, although eventually only Laurens ten Dam of Sunweb and Dimension Data's Omar Fraile were left in the front.

The two remained ahead for some time but were eventually caught with about 50 kilometers to go.

It took until the last climb for the action to resume in the peloton. Michael Woods of Cannondale-Drapac was first to attack and was followed by Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde and Sergio Henao.

Several more riders had joined the group when Woods decided to try another attack and immediately created a significant gap with only UAE Team Emirates' Louis Meintjes able to follow.

Valverde, Contador, Romain Bardet, Rigoberto Uran and Samuel Sanchez made their way back to the front but the latter crashed in the middle of the road shortly after trying to attack from the front.

In the final sprint of six, Valverde easily took the victory ahead of Bardet and Uran. Contador finished a few seconds behind the stage winner.

As a result, and with only the closing time trial left to go, Valverde also takes the lead in the overall classification at the expense of Quick-Step Floors' David de la Cruz.


Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco (2.UWT)
Stage 5 Bilbao - Eibar (2017-04-07)
Pos. Name Team Country Time
1.Alejandro VALVERDE BELMONTEMOV 3:26:32
2.Romain BARDETALM +0
3.Rigoberto URAN URANCDT +0
4.Michael WOODSCDT +0
8.Sergio Luis HENAO MONTOYASKY +15
9.Simon YATESORS +15

View full results
Photo of Alejandro Valverde (cropped) by Movistar Team



Loading Poll...
Join our team!

Have you always wanted to write about cycling? Click HERE to contact us!
Get the latest cycling news in your mailbox

Enter your email address: